And here I am, the last day of Art Every Day Month and, at last, the end of November. I started this yesterday with a layer of gesso which I textured into fine ripples (best tool: paper towel) and left to dry overnight. This is my first ever attempt at something recognizable (eg. a vase with flowers). My husband, the realist and talented landscape/portrait painter, declared “It is actually a something”!

It was not a great day for me, in a respect, as I heard disappointing news about an interesting job which I had interviewed for. It took some muster to get into a less bluesy mind frame after dinner. I guess I could have channeled that into the painting, but I chose not to — I wanted something bright and lively. I started with yellow, my favourite colour, because I felt a need for it. Not normally a fan of pink, but this is the colour I jumped to in order to stand out against the silvery blue.

Because it was mostly a great day, the above notwithstanding. The organization I interviewed for, ostensibly, liked me and I came really really close to getting the job, and I have awesome references, and the HR officer cited upcoming jobs in January if I am patient and wait (and they will let me know). Yeah, so, I am valid in being glum on one level but, on another, the possibilities are out there if I focus in on them.

I was I did some enjoyable volunteer work doing what I enjoy best: writing, editing and a little desktop publishing. I am going in to this office, another non-profit, for a few days this week — I’ve missed the odd pleasure of going in to something everyday and being productive in a personally meaningful way. Money, yes, is nice (!) but the routine is the most valuable bit.

An important and beautiful routine, for me, has been playing with art this month. I need to keep this up the way I need to get exercise so many times a week and drink water and eat colourful veggies daily. Therefore, I will stick with Creative Every Day for the remainder of 2009 (December has a recyclable objects theme) and into 2010. Thank you for the journey, Leah!

