“Whatever it is that pulls the pin, that hurls you past the boundaries of your own life into a brief and total beauty, even for a moment, it is enough.”

– Jeanette Winterson

My husband can create wonderful paintings of beloved pets, and there was one request which he never completed beyond an initial pencil sketch on a stretched canvas. The foreground was dominated by this big-eyed, big-nosed dog, and when I was hunting for surfaces to paint (!) I wondered if I couldn’t use parts of the sketch (trace over it, since I can’t draw) and create a scene around it. I had visions of a lone wolf peering through a night thicket.

Here, below, is the start after I gessoed the rest of the canvas and traced/filled in the parts of the dog I wished to keep. I’m not crazy about it yet, namely the colour I chose for the fur and the angry look on the face (I wanted more pensiveness), but I am going to keep working with it over the week to see what I can do!

Dawg

