Well, I’m getting a promotion at work . . .

I will get a letter, I guess, on Friday outlining my new job title and responsibilities, and yes I am getting a raise of about a dollar an hour. I’ll essentially be a Team Leader or Supervisor for the Front Desk — training, making sure all reports are done, running breaks, and a little/lots of crisis management.

Work is . . . a chaotic space these days. One of my managers was fired for abusing privileges, and the F&B manager was also fired. There have been so many changes (eg. new staff, new departments, new procedures) this past two weeks that it is dizzying! It feels good to know that I am afloat!], and actually swimming this! But I do feel strangely guilty being promoted over some co-workers who have been here longer or as long as I have been. Why? I must have earned this by doing my extra projects, but I still feel a bit strange about it. A co-worker has been visibly cool to my boss . . .

It feels good, don’t get me wrong. I’m just not used to calling shots!

