I just heard about this on the national CBC radio newscast at noon today: The Cadre, the student newspaper I once worked for, published those cartoons that were first published in Denmark, Germany and France, and which ignited such protest among many Muslims around the world. The editors say they did it to emphasize freedom of the press, whether it offends or not.

The paper has had its lows as far as quality goes in the recent past, but there is usually something to get people’s opinions on a rise between the pages.

The cartoons are only featured in the print edition, on campus as of today. But here is a link to the online opinion article that accompanies the photos:

A column by Rob Walker (I have no idea who the Editor-in-Chief is these days).

We aren’t printing these cartoons to cause an uproar or gain any sort of publicity. Personally, I think they’re pretty stupid and as someone who has Muslim friends I sympathize with how offensive it is. However, that does not mean we won’t print them.

Part of having freedom of speech in our society, in fact I would argue most of the reason, is to print things people don’t want to hear. I don’t agree with a fair amount of what goes into The Cadre or other media institutions. I pray I’ll never see the day when I do agree with all of it, because it will mean we’ve lost sight of what is important.

We are at the forefront of a very important time in human history. Understand that freedom of speech is, humanity-wise, a very new concept. And unfortunately, it’s a concept that is only now rearing its sometimes-ugly head in certain areas of the world. We have a right to say what we want, when we want, regardless of who we offend. We must show by example that this is a true concept. That no one, even if they have a sword, can stop you from saying it. The pen is mightier.

“I disagree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.” – Voltaire (This quote is from the article).

