Seems like a good idea . . .

The Tate Britain created some five-piece collections for special express tours (virtual and self-guided) under headings like “Odd Faces” and “I’m An Animal Freak”.

And it probably is, when done well. However, this whole themed tour concept under subheadings like “I’ve Just Split Up” and “I Haven’t Been Here For Ages” gets patronizing when someone comes up with stupid interpretive comments like this:

We know how it feels. You don’t even want to wake up in the mornings. Everything feels like Ophelia by John Everett Millais. But think about it: if someone else went through that, maybe it’s not the end of the world for you.

Who is “we”?
The idea is interesting, the delivery is not. Noone likes being patronized, and people generally hate being told how they feel!!

However, I do love this one: The I Like Yellow Collection . . . until I read this gem :

In The Battle of Hastings, Allen Jones explores the territory between abstraction and representation. If you see a fried egg, don’t worry. It’s just that you need to visit the Café pretty soon.

Because the masses just think with their tummys, right? 😉

