Is it really that easy, to make and take a major life decision quickly and without the slightest regret/worry in mind? Well, maybe it isn’t so major. Maybe I know exactly what I am doing, for once. The only fallout might come from the parental front, but it isn’t like I’m unemployed and without a plan.

What am I talking about? I’ve decided to postpone j-school ONE more year. Because I don’t want to settle and do things because I don’t know what else I can do. Back when I applied to Holland College, things were shitty and I sincerely believed that I had no future any other way. I wanted to have something to look forward to and to apply myself towards for a couple years, with a little less of that dreaded uncertainty. And I didn’t believe that any other school would take me, or that I could handle any other school.

But things change, confidence grows, new opportunities come up, and I realize that I want to explore more than just newsprint journalism. I want to look at multimedia, and I want to take risks and push myself towards things which are not so very out of reach.

And maybe a little of this is guided by a new romance which makes certain excellent schools in Ontario much more attractive. But I know what I’m doing.

I can’t look back, and I won’t. I have a full-time job which could carry me though the year, and of that falls through I have new experience which makes getting other good jobs much more possible. If I have to move, then I have to move. But I won’t settle because of fear of what might happen otherwise.

